Mushroom Bourguignon

This recipe came up on when I was reading the New York Times. It looked so good I had to make it. Plus it can be served over grits. Grits here I come!

The result was kind of mixed. The flavor was very good. And I liked that there were additional veggies rather than just mushrooms. On the other hand, there was way too much liquid and it didn’t thicken the way I think it was supposed to. I’d half the wine and stock.

I bought chanterelles especially for this recipe. They were very expensive. Only after buying them did I realize that they were just meant to be put on top of the stew, not in it. I really don’t think they added much and given the price, weren’t worth it. I’d leave them out next time.

I kept thinking that this would be really good with seitan in it. I might try adding some next time.

https://cooking.nytimes.com/recipes/1020738-mushroom-bourguignon

Leave a comment